Google WARNING - same priority
« on: July 11, 2008, 07:11:45 PM »
I've been using the “Online Sitemaps Generator” for 6 months now.  Thank you.

I created and uploaded new sitemaps last week and Google just finished crawling my sitemaps.  It also reported the exact same error on two of my sitemaps - WARNING:

“All the URLs in your Sitemap have the same priority.
All the URLs in your Sitemap are set to the same priority (not the default priority). Priority indicates the importance of a particular URL relative to other URLs on your site, and doesn't impact your site's performance in search results. If all URLs have the same priority, Google can't tell which are more important.”

I’ve been running and uploading xml sitemaps (by XML-sitemaps.com) for 6 months now on these same sites.  Has Google changed something?  As you know I can’t change the “Online Sitemaps Generator” PRIORITY as it’s automatically calculated and I don’t want to manually change the XML code for every link.

Any thoughts…

Thanks,
Bob
Re: Google WARNING - same priority
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2008, 05:10:03 AM »
Hello,

thank you for your question. We have recently implemented an "Automatic priority calculation" feature for free online sitemap generator, so this issue should be addressed. Please regenerate sitemap for your site, upload it to your server and resubmit to Google.
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2008, 06:50:40 PM »
Thank you for the response,

Now I have Google WARNINGS on all four xml sitemaps for this set of websites.  I regenerated all xml sitemaps just now (07-12-08) and they’re EXACT to last week’s xml sitemaps that were generated and uploaded to Google (07-07-08) and now giving me the WARNINGS with Google, so no reason to re-upload the same files:

DATE GENERATED and UPLOADED to GOOGLE + URL
07-07-08 – [ External links are visible to forum administrators only ]  (1 url - home page only)
07-07-08 – [ External links are visible to forum administrators only ]   (1 url - home page only)