Problems with SEF links in cyrillic alphabet
« on: September 02, 2012, 06:00:13 PM »
Hello!

I use standalone version of XML Sitemap Generator.

My site (Joomla) has a SEF component rewriting links into cyrillic alphabet.

I run the script on my local computer where I have got an Apache web-server installed. Because real site contains over 20 000 pages. I pointed the script to scan my real site in its configuration section. After that I uploaded the generated sitemap to my real site, after changing site URL in it of course.

Now I am facing two problems.

1) There was 1000 broken links, however they look OK and I can open the pages from the list of broken links just clicking on them. What should I do with them?

2) The site map contains links supposed to be in cyrillic looking as abracadabra, and of course they give 404 error when clicking on them.

I am not a big expert with that. Could you please advise where to look for or relevant reading. I will send you in pm my sitemap address so you can take a look.
Thanks.
Re: Problems with SEF links in cyrillic alphabet
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2012, 11:28:09 PM »
Hello,

1. what is an example oforken link + referring page to it?

2. I'd need an example URL here as well. You might just try to enable UTF8 support setting in generator configuration though.
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2012, 09:15:03 AM »
Hello,

As for 1) you can see them at [ External links are visible to forum administrators only ].

Regarding 2) I will follow your advice and report the results later. So far I can only say that when I run free on-line generator the SEF links in Russian in xml sitemap were OK. I suspect it may have also to do with settings of my local web-server.

BRG
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2012, 02:00:15 PM »
I set UTF-8 and it's OK now. Also I set delay for crawling. Looks better - no 404 pages during a short test run.

Thanks for your advice!

I've got only two questions left at the moment.