XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time  (Read 27168 times)

ewsopp

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Hello, I just purchased your sitemap script and installed everything following your instruction.

When I try to run the script for the first time, I receive an error:
Quote
Server error!

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request.

Error message:
Premature end of script headers: index.php

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
Error 500

I searched your forum and found a related error, you said contact the host. What exactly should I say and/or request?

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10625
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2007, 09:14:55 AM »
Hello,

do you receive this error on the main script page or when crawling is started?
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ewsopp

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2007, 05:54:21 PM »
I go to the 'crawling' tab and hit the 'crawl' button. I am then displayed this message: "Please wait. Sitemap generation in progress..." After some moments of time, I get this error:

Quote
Server error!

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request.

Error message:
Premature end of script headers: index.php

If you think this is a server error, please contact the webmaster.
Error 500

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10625
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2007, 10:12:12 PM »
Hello,

it means that server times out. You should increase max_execution_time setting in your php configuration (php.ini file on your host).
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ewsopp

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2007, 06:46:25 PM »
Is there a good 'max execution time' I should set it to? Any information I can hand my host would be helpful!

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10625
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2007, 08:18:08 PM »
Hello,

it depends on how many URLs you have on your site and average page load time (you should multiply those two values).
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ewsopp

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2007, 05:59:29 PM »
Well, I increased my max_execution_time to 30000 and max_input_time to 60000. I am still receiving the 500 server error. What should I do now?

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10625
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2007, 01:57:44 AM »
Hello,

please try to execute sitemap generator in shell via command line.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ewsopp

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2007, 12:17:42 PM »
I just activated SSH access. Now what do I do?

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10625
Re: Server Error when I try to run Sitemap Crawl for first time
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2007, 08:14:20 PM »
Hello,

you should execute it like:
Code: [Select]
/usr/local/bin/php /path/to/your/generator/runcrawl.php
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2