XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: Sheduled task?  (Read 9231 times)

yessir

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Sheduled task?
« on: May 27, 2011, 06:32:36 AM »
Hi

Finally after resolvning the timeout-issue on my win2003 server i've tried to add a sheduled task to run the sitemap script.
I've added the script but it doesn't generate anything.
Is there a guide on how to successfully add a sheduled task in windows server?

Thanks.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10623
Re: Sheduled task?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 07:54:53 AM »
Hello,

exact details depend on the server configuration, the script that should be started with scheduled task is /generator/runcrawl.php
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

yessir

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Sheduled task?
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2011, 07:26:03 AM »
I've added a command prompt.
Under "Run" i have set "D:\Domains\mysite.com\wwwroot\generator\runcrawl.php"
Under "Start in" i have set "D:\Domains\mysite.com\wwwroot\generator/"

" = is not saved
mysite.com = dummy name

Is there something i might be missing or is there another obvious error? For example "Start in" maybe should be IE? hehe
Thanks for the help i can get

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10623
Re: Sheduled task?
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2011, 05:28:56 AM »
Hello,

usually you need to specify path to php interpreter before generator's runcrawl.php. In linux it's:

/usr/bin/php /path/to/generator/runcrawl.php

In Windows it differs, might be something like:
C:\PHP\php.exe D:\Domains\mysite.com\wwwroot\generator\runcrawl.php
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

yessir

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Sheduled task?
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 02:15:24 PM »
Ah, thanks!

I'll try adding the exe location first. I've sheduled it to run tonight so I guess I'll get back tomorrow ;)

I've also added a 5 hour CGI-timeout limit just to be sure.

yessir

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Sheduled task?
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2011, 07:45:28 PM »
I forgot to get back but It's now working. I've added the php exe first with "" around and then the path to crawl php. I had to specify "start in" to the generator folder. I also extended the CGI timeout. Thanks for the help
My site crawls in aprox 3 hours every day, not fast but ok.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10623
Re: Sheduled task?
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2011, 02:56:54 PM »
Great, I'm glad it worked!
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2