XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: timeouts even though settings are high  (Read 26916 times)

grannysgold

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
timeouts even though settings are high
« on: May 24, 2007, 12:01:13 AM »
I'm using version 2.5.2.
I have set my php.ini as follows:
max_execution_time = 9000
max_input_time = 3000
memory_limit = 500M

Those settings seem a little extreme to me, but I set them high anyway.
I've asked the generator to save state every 180 seconds.
This worked on another website of mine using the same hosting company and the same settings.
I'm still getting fatal memory errors and timeouts.
What do I need to do to make this stupid thing work?

grannysgold

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2007, 05:56:21 PM »
I failed to paste in the error code that I'm receiving - So, here it is after trying again and increasing memory limit to 600M.

Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 57671680) (tried to allocate 6291484 bytes) in /my/path/to/program/pages/class.grab.inc.php(2) : eval()'d code on line 298

I'm going to increase the little devil to 6000M and see what happens.  If I DO succeed, I will post again..... if not, PLEASE, I need some help here.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10622
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2007, 11:07:00 PM »
Hello,

this is a memory_limit related issue, possibly your changes were not applied and you should restart Apache for that.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

grannysgold

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2007, 03:35:22 PM »
I am told by support at PW hosting that changes to php.ini take effect immediately without restart. 
Next suggestion, please?

bleifus

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2007, 06:04:44 PM »
May we have a look @ your phpinfo.php ?

cvos

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2007, 08:40:12 PM »
i have the same problem.  i receive a timeout on a site and the file won't save an incremental sitemap.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2007, 09:03:25 PM by renoir »

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10622
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2007, 11:26:06 PM »
Please let me know the URL to your phpinfo so that I can check it (in private message). Thank you.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

tan

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2007, 05:01:25 PM »
Hello,

I used to have an older version of xml-sitemap and it worked great.  Then I upgraded to 2.5.2 and now everytime I run it, it halts execution on link depth 4.  Can someone please help me?

This is a great product but when it's not working, then it leaves me helpless.

- Bob

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10622
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2007, 09:29:50 PM »
Hello,
you should increase max_execution_time setting in php configuration.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

tan

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2007, 10:44:47 PM »
What should I increase the max execution time settings to?

right now it is set to 30 i believe.

max_execution_time 30 30
max_input_time 60 60
memory_limit 16M 16M


Besides max_execution_time, do i need to set max_input_time, memory_limit or anything else I have to set because I have to put in a request to the hosting company.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2007, 10:47:54 PM by tan »

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10622
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2007, 09:53:56 PM »
Hello,

that depends on the number of pages you have. Try increasing it to 9000. Also, increase memory_limit value.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

cvos

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2007, 03:35:38 AM »
i see why my site is timing out, i need to block one folder.   what is the code to block /folder

example:  site.com/folder

i tried the disallow index:  /folder

but this did not work, and this directory is still being spidered

thanks

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10622
Re: timeouts even though settings are high
« Reply #12 on: June 13, 2007, 10:31:43 PM »
Hello,

try to define it as:

Code: [Select]
folder/
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2