XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: Error Opening Socket  (Read 19510 times)

ray.rodenburgh

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Error Opening Socket
« on: June 17, 2008, 02:22:06 PM »
Hello,

We just purchased ‘Standalone Sitemap Generator’ and installed/configured.
After installing, we received an error message which was “Error Opening Socket”. We also tried to enter our server’s IP address in advanced options on configuration. We are running on Linux/Apache server. Any help would be appreciated.

ray.rodenburgh

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2008, 03:25:28 PM »
And port 80 in our web server has been already opened, we just confirmed with our web host.

ray.rodenburgh

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2008, 07:01:39 PM »
Error message which I received:

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2008, 09:05:33 PM »
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ray.rodenburgh

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2008, 12:37:30 PM »
"Another tip: you can also check phpinfo() on your server and find IP specified as _SERVER['SERVER_ADDR'] and enter it in sitemap generator settings."


First, thanks for your reply. I followed your tip, but it is not crawling pages still.  :-\

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2008, 05:53:30 PM »
Please try "127.0.0.1" as IP address.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

shop14

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2008, 01:14:54 PM »
Had this problem too -  setting IP address to 127.0.0.1 made runcrawl work but it is crawling the wrong website

On shared (apache) server with PHP 5

config:-

[ ] brackets are not real data - my edits 

$grab_parameters = array(
'xs_inc_skip' => '\\.(pdf|doc|txt|rtf)',
'xs_exc_skip' => '\\.(zip|m4a|m4v|rar|tar|bz2|tgz|exe|gif|jpg|png|class|jar|mpeg|mpg|mp3|wav|mp4|avi|wmv|gz|mov|mid|ra|ram)',
'xs_proto_skip' => '(\\#|mms:|mailto:|https:|javascript:|ftp:|news:|aim:)',
'xs_exec_time' => '900',
'xs_cache' => '',
'xs_max_pages' => '0',
'xs_initurl' => '[external links are visible to admins only].[mydomain].co.uk',
'xs_freq' => 'daily',
'xs_lastmod' => '0',
'xs_lastmodtime' => '2005-06-30 19:35:14',
'xs_priority' => '0.5',
'xs_descpriority' => '0.8',
'xs_autopriority' => '1',
'xs_smname' => '/var/www/[homedir...]/sitemap.xml',
'xs_smurl' => '[external links are visible to admins only].[mydomain].co.uk/sitemap.xml',
'xs_gping' => '0',
'xs_yping' => '',
'xs_makehtml' => '1',
'xs_maketxt' => '1',
'xs_makeror' => '1',
'xs_makebase' => '0',
'xs_compress' => '0',
'xs_excl_urls' => '',
'xs_notconfigured' => '0',
'xs_login' => '',
'xs_password' => '',
'xs_savestate_time' => '180',
'xs_ipconnection' => '127.0.0.1',
'xs_portconnection' => '80',
'xs_sm_size' => '40000',
'xs_sm_text_filename' => '',
'xs_sm_text_url' => '',
'xs_cleanurls' => '',
'xs_usecurl' => '1',
'xs_robotstxt' => '1',
'xs_dumptype' => 'serialize',
'xs_cleanpar' => 'PHPSESSID|sid|osCsid',
'xs_chlogorder' => 'asc',
'xs_exclude_check' => '1',
'xs_dateformat' => 'Y, F j',
'xs_utf8' => '0',
'xs_allow_httpcode' => '200',
'xs_chlog' => '0',
'xs_htmlname' => '/var/www/[homedir...]/xml-sitemap/data/sitemap.html',
'xs_htmlpart' => '1000',
'htmlurl' => '[external links are visible to admins only].[mydomain].co.uk/xml-sitemap/data/sitemap.html',
'xs_max_depth' => '0',
'xs_memlimit' => '0',
'xs_delay_req' => '3',
'xs_delay_ms' => '3',
'xs_incl_urls' => '',
'xs_incl_only' => '',
'xs_ind_attr' => '',
'xs_email' => '',
'xs_metadesc' => '0',);

BUT I AM GETTING DATA FOR:-

/var/www/[FQDN_public_webdir]/

is there anyway of telling this software where to look in the server dir tree ?

this is a dedicated server and I have root access - i want to use this on more than one virtual host directory for each website eg:

/var/www/[THIS WEBSITE/homedir...]/xml-sitemap
/var/www/[ANOTHER WEBSITE/homedir...]/xml-sitemap
/var/www/[ANOTHER WEBSITE/homedir...]/xml-sitemap

and get the right data for each site

thanks






 

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2008, 01:36:33 PM »
Hello,

sitemap generator opens websites via http, so it's not possible to specify the folder name. Did you try to set IP to _SERVER['SERVER_ADDR'] from phpinfo() as described above?
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

shop14

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2008, 05:46:40 PM »
sitemap generator opens websites via http, so it's not possible to specify the folder name

- other packages (eg. awstats / webmail) ARE configurable for shared hosting environment - it simply requires another configuration option so apache server FQDN home directory is not crawled and another specified  virtual host home directory is crawled as default instead !

if i had the source code i could probably fix this problem - so maybe you can too ?

Did you try to set IP to _SERVER['SERVER_ADDR'] from phpinfo() as described above?

THAT is the problem - ALL the apache virtual servers will have the same IP address on a shared server !!

shop14

  • Registered Customer
  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2008, 06:08:55 PM »
is it also possible that server php configuration requires modifying - eg. safe_mode etc. ?

let me know the required settings in php ini file for xml-sitemaps to work - the ones you have tested it on

i can change php settings for entire server if you think this is also required for runcrawl



 


XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Error Opening Socket
« Reply #10 on: October 13, 2008, 06:31:45 AM »
Hello,

sitemap generator should work fine with default Apache/PHP configurations, no special options are required.

Can you provide temporary FTP access via PM to check this further?
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2