XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: no priority set on sitemap2.xml  (Read 17118 times)

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« on: December 19, 2008, 03:28:43 PM »
Hello,
Everything works great on sitemap1.xml but in sitemap2.xml, no priority is set - how can this be resolved?
Thank you for the help in advance.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 08:14:18 PM »
Hello,

do you mean that there is no priority attribute at all or it's empty / set to 0?
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2008, 02:38:42 AM »
Sorry, I should've been more specific.  It is set to  0.00 for every URL:

<priority>0.00</priority>

After further investigation, it is like this in both sitemap1.xml and sitemap2.xml, despite having the checkbox checked for "Automatically assign priority attribute".  Why is it not assigning priority?

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2008, 08:12:17 PM »
Hello,

even if you have auto priority enabled, make sure that "Priority" setting is not empty, set it to 0.8-1.0 value and regenerate sitemap.
Note that this is only a warning message though and google will still process your sitemap correctly.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2008, 09:37:11 PM »
ok, thanks.  Just to clarify, should I set the value to "0.8-1.0" or are you suggesting that I choose a value in that range and set it to that value (i.e. "0.9")?

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2008, 12:43:06 AM »
I re-ran the sitemap with the value "0.5-1.0" and it generated sitemaps with 0 priority again.  Why would you have to put a  value in this field if you have the "automatic" box checked? 

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2008, 11:43:58 PM »
No-no, "0.8-1.0" was only a suggested number *range*, you should enter a single number only, like: 0.8
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2008, 05:46:05 AM »
Ok, I have the value set to 0.5, the "Automatically assign priority attribute" box is checked, and it is still not assigning priority to sitemap2.xml.  It is working fine in sitemap1.xml, just not sitemap2.xml.  Is there anything else I can adjust to ensure that priorities get set in all sitemap files?

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #8 on: December 27, 2008, 02:49:04 PM »
Is the sitemap2.xml file updated? (check the last modification date/time)
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #9 on: December 27, 2008, 10:25:51 PM »
Yes, it matches the time/date on sitemap1.xml  and is updating appropriately.  Here is some of the xml from today's sitemap2.xml:

       <priority>0.00</priority>
       <changefreq>daily</changefreq>
       <lastmod>2008-12-27T06:39:00+00:00</lastmod>

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2008, 12:00:02 AM »
Looks like you have high depth level on your site, try to set base priority to 1.0.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2008, 10:19:40 PM »
I set it to 1.0 and it had no affect on the problem.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2009, 08:27:52 AM »
Another thing to try: please set this option in config.inc.php file:
    'xs_descpriority' => '0.95',

and regenerate sitemap.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

azhomedeal

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: no priority set on sitemap2.xml
« Reply #13 on: January 06, 2009, 01:39:01 PM »
That worked - thank you!

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2