XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: Script running in the background  (Read 30343 times)

ShrewdDude

  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Script running in the background
« on: February 15, 2010, 08:18:22 PM »
I seem to have a problem in getting the script to run in the background. I get all the right messages such as:

"Please note! The script will run in the background until completion, even if browser window is closed.
Already in progress. Current process state is displayed"

But when I check back in a hour or two, click on interrupt and then start if going, I find it hasn't indexed any more pages since the last time I did this. It will then proceed to index another say 40 pages and but thats all it will do until I repeat the process. The pages are PHP.

If anyone has any ideas on what I should be looking at I would be very grateful.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Script running in the background
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2010, 08:47:27 PM »
Hello,

it looks like your server configuration doesn't allow to run the script long enough to create full sitemap. Please try to increase memory_limit and max_execution_time settings in php configuration at your host (php.ini file) or contact hosting support regarding this.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ShrewdDude

  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Script running in the background
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2010, 08:30:21 AM »
Hi Oleg,

Unfortunately I'm on a shared hosting platform with Names.co.uk and the software and the configuration settings in place apply to the entire user base and therefore they are unable to apply modifications to the php.ini file or change the IIS security settings.

Names.co.uk have therefore recommend checking with the creators of the software to see if this feature is entirely essential and if they have any workaround for servers that do not support this specific functionality.

Just to remind you the sitemap will only index 20 to 40 .php pages after 2/3 minutes (was very fast when the site was .htm) before the thing times out and that applies whether or not you ask it to continue to work in the background until completed.

Ian

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Script running in the background
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2010, 11:24:28 PM »
Hello,

you can try to define server's IP address in generator configuration, that might increase the crawling speed.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

ShrewdDude

  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Script running in the background
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2010, 11:33:11 AM »
Hi Oleg,

I have already tried that but unfortunately it had no effect. Could it be the case that the Sitemap Generator is simply unable to cope with php pages.

ShrewdDude

  • Approved member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Script running in the background
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2010, 12:08:48 PM »
Hi Oleg,

Is there anyway I can limit the sitemap to physical pages on the site (in the example below the url would end at clothing_accessories.php). For each of thousands of products there are links to display products by brand, category, merchant or price and clearly the products are the same for all four but just displayed in a different order.

For brand, category, merchant or price there is a huge url which ends as follows:

clothing_accessories.php?kcatId=1&kcatName=Adidas&ShowSelCat=97%40%40%40Clothing+%26+Accessories&arrRefineBy=1%2C1%2C1%2Cfalse%40%40%402%2C1%2C2%2Cfalse%40%40%403%2C1%2C3%2Cfalse%40%40%404%2C1%2C4%2Cfalse&rb=4-97|3-1552&MoreByStart=1&start=1&MoreByOption=false&MoreById=3&kcatId=1552&kcatName=991.com&ShowSelCat=97%40%40%40Clothing+%26+Accessories&arrRefineBy=1%2C1%2C1%2Cfalse%40%40%402%2C1%2C2%2Cfalse%40%40%403%2C1%2C3%2Cfalse%40%40%404%2C1%2C4%2Cfalse

Ian

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10624
Re: Script running in the background
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2010, 09:59:43 PM »
You can add a part of the URL in "Exclude URLs" setting, for instance:
Code: [Select]
clothing_accessories.php
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2