XML Sitemaps Generator

Author Topic: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work  (Read 10631 times)

paypal346

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« on: July 12, 2012, 06:16:48 PM »
Odd - two problems:

(1) I can't run the crawler using standard ssh login. I tried executing the generator.php using the php command and now it won't run.

(2) A while ago the script stopped running. I upgraded to V 6.0, cleared out all the files and that doesn't run with cron either:

/usr/local/bin/php
/home/mydir/public_html/generator/runcrawl.php   

Perhaps there is something that has changed? I can't figure it out after reading through the docs and these forums.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10621
Re: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2012, 05:16:23 AM »
Hello,

What exactly is the error message you get when running it?
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

paypal346

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2012, 04:54:53 PM »
php /usr/bin/php  /home/mysite/public_html/generator/runcrawl.php

(command line)

Code: [external links are visible to admins only]
Fatal error: Out of memory (allocated 786432) (tried to allocate 24990728 bytes) in Unknown on line 0
So if I run the generator to crawl via the limited area I specified, I get a 500 link site map in 4 minutes. I run it with command line and I'm getting this. Odd.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10621
Re: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2012, 08:47:44 AM »
Hello,

looks like php limit for command line is very small, you need to increase memory_limit setting in php configuration.
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

paypal346

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2012, 01:38:43 PM »
Thanks for the response but odd - I just looked and memory_limit for php is set to 512MB, which should be more than enough to run the script and create 500 pages.

XML-Sitemaps Support

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10621
Re: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2012, 07:31:01 AM »
Looks like you have extra "php" in command line:
instead of:
php /usr/bin/php  /home/mysite/public_html/generator/runcrawl.php

you need:
/usr/bin/php  /home/mysite/public_html/generator/runcrawl.php
Oleg Ignatiuk
www.xml-sitemaps.com
Send me a Private Message

For maximum exposure and traffic for your web site check out our additional SEO Services.

paypal346

  • Registered Customer
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Re: Can't launch with PHP, cron jobs don't work
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2012, 02:15:30 PM »
I think it works now (my entry was actually different without the extra php) but I can't launch command line manually. As long as cron jobs work, that's probably most important. Thanks again for the support.

 

SMF 2.0.12 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines
XHTML RSS WAP2